Wednesday, June 19, 2024
HomeTech In GhanaThe Various Types Of Driver License That We Have In Ghana

The Various Types Of Driver License That We Have In Ghana

Certainly, let’s explore the process of obtaining a driving license in Ghana. Acquiring a car is a common aspiration for many, but before hitting the road, you must obtain a driving license from the government.

The authorized institution for issuing driving licenses in Ghana is the Driver and Vehicle Licensing Authority (DVLA).

To embark on this journey, you’ll need a permit issued by the DVLA. Obtaining a driver’s license permit in Ghana has become more accessible, but it’s crucial to be aware of the different types of driving licenses available before applying.

This article will guide you through the requirements for obtaining a driving license in Ghana and provide insights into the various types of licenses.

Understanding the specific license you need will make the application process smoother. Stay tuned for more detailed information in the upcoming sections.

Requirements Needed For Applying For A Driving License

Below are the requirements you must meet before you can be eligible to apply for a driving license in Ghana

  1. You should be more than 18 years old
  2. You must have written the BECE examination
  3. A visa picture
  4. About 4-hour preparation from a driving school that has been accredited by the DVLA

Types Of Driving License In Ghana

Now let’s look at the various driving license types in Ghana and their meaning.

Also on  How To Borrow Money From MTN Mobile Money

Type A

This type of license is specifically designed for vehicles without gearboxes, typically used by individuals riding bikes, cruisers, and ‘Aboboyaa’ users.

If your mode of transportation falls into this category, obtaining this particular license is the key step to ensure you’re legally authorized to operate such vehicles on the roads.

Whether you’re a bike enthusiast or a user of ‘Aboboyaa,’ this license is tailored to meet the needs of those who navigate vehicles without traditional gearboxes.

Type B

This type of license is specifically designated for drivers operating minibusses, cross-country vehicles, and pickup trucks.

It’s essential for individuals involved in taxi and Uber services, as these vehicles typically cannot accommodate more than 15 passengers. Additionally, this permit sets a limit on the gross load, ensuring it does not exceed 5000 kg.

If you’re in the business of transporting people or goods within these specifications, obtaining this license is crucial for legal compliance and safe driving.

Type C

This specific license is allocated to vehicles with a passenger capacity of up to 45 people, making it suitable for business and commercial vehicles like ‘Trotro.’

Additionally, the gross weight of these vehicles should not surpass 10000kgs. If you’re involved in the transportation business, especially with vehicles designed for a moderate number of passengers, securing this license is essential to comply with regulations and ensure the safe operation of your vehicle.

Also on  How To Easily Detect A Fake Cable That Can Burn Your House In Ghana

Type D

This specific permit is tailored for heavy-load vehicles with a substantial gross weight, typically around 350000kgs.

Examples of such vehicles include STC buses. It’s important to note that the passenger capacity for this category of vehicles must not exceed 65 individuals.

If you operate or drive heavy-load vehicles with these characteristics, obtaining this permit is essential to ensure legal compliance and the safe transportation of passengers within the specified limits.

Type E

For operators of heavy horticultural vehicles, the Type E driving license permit is the one to apply for when seeking a driving permit in Ghana.

This category encompasses rural and earth-moving vehicles, as well as modern gear vehicles.

Examples include trucks, loaders, forklifts, graders, rollers, and other large and heavy vehicles.

If you’re involved in operating these substantial vehicles, obtaining a Type E permit is crucial to ensure compliance with driving regulations and safely maneuver these heavy-duty machines.

Type F      

The Type F permit is akin to the Type D permit, with the key distinction being that drivers applying for this category operate vehicles with a gross weight load surpassing 35,000kgs.

This permit is specifically tailored for drivers handling vehicles tasked with transporting heavy loads and merchandise exceeding the specified weight limit.

Common examples of such vehicles are articulators. If you’re involved in driving these heavy-duty vehicles, securing a Type F permit is essential to comply with regulations and safely manage substantial cargo transportation.

Also on  How To Get The Best Out Of Uber


These are the distinct types of driving licenses or permits available, each corresponding to the specific type of vehicle one operates.

It’s crucial to be well-versed in these driver’s license categories to ensure you apply for the correct one according to your vehicle type.

I trust that this article has provided valuable information to our esteemed readers. For all your tech-related needs, remember to visit this site regularly. Stay informed and drive safely.

What Do You Think?

Send Me New Article By Email

Get the Latest Tech trends, Tutorials, CryptoCurrency tutorials and many more straight in your inbox

error: Content is protected !! Masa Behave