Telegram is a privacy-focused messaging app that can be used on android, IOS, and PC. Telegram is now regarded as the main rival to the world-famous WhatsApp messaging app.
Telegram is an app that works a bit differently from the way WhatsApp does. It uses bots and one can make their stickers and upload them directly to share with their friends and contacts.
And because Telegram is a privacy-focused app, it will not notify you when a user blocks you, just like WhatsApp does. However, if you know that you have pissed a contact off enough to the extent that they thought about blocking you, then, chances are, they have already blocked you.
But Telegram will not tell you that you have been blocked. This means that you will have to do some slight detective work on the app to confirm whether you have been blocked or not. Below are some of the things you can do to find out if you have been blocked.
How To Know If You Have Been Blocked On Telegram
Use the tips below to verify if you have been blocked or not.
‘Last Seen’ And ‘Online’ Status
When someone blocks you on Telegram, you will not be able to view their last seen. You will also not be able to see whether they are online or not. These will not be shown to you by Telegram and that can mean that the said contact has blocked you already.
Profile Photo Will Not Show
Apart from not being able to view the ‘last seen’ and ‘online’ status of the contact, you will also not be able to see his profile photo if he has blocked you. So if you find out that you have not been able to view your contact’s profile photo for a long time. Then you may have been blocked.
Messages Not Sent
When someone blocks you on Telegram, your messages will no longer be able to reach them. So when you see that the messages you saw to that contact a long time ago have still not been sent, then it is likely that you have been blocked by that contact.
Video And Voice Calls
If you are still not sure if the person has blocked you, you can try by placing a voice or video call to the person on the Telegram app. If the voice or video call does not get complete, ten you have been blocked.
Deleted Account Warning
Telegram comes with the ability for users to delete their entire chats when this happens, the users who had been chatting that account will receive a ‘delete account’ notice when they try to chat with that account again. If you do not see this warning, then you have been blocked by the contact because this notice is only shown to accounts that were actively chatting with that contact.
With these tips, you can verify easily if someone has blocked you on Telegram or not. If you have been blocked, then you will probably tick a check on all the tips that have been outlined here.
If you realize that you did not check any of the tips here after reading through it, then maybe you have not been blocked and it is the contact has probably gone offline for some much-needed vacation.
I hope this article has been immensely helpful to you as you seek more knowledge about the usage and operation of Telegram, which is one of the most privacy-focused messaging apps in the world at the moment.